CTT Advisory Board

The Center for Transformative Teaching Advisory Board helps to coordinate information sharing and collaboration with various groups across the University of Nebraska-Lincoln that provide support for teaching and learning and provides counsel and feedback to the CTT Director. The CTT Advisory Board includes instructors from all ranks as well as representatives from academic support units that support teaching and learning, such as college teaching centers, the Writing Center, Graduate Studies, first year experience and transition programs, academic learning technologies, libraries, and the Teaching Council.

  1. Serve as advocates and liaisons within their colleges and departments to further the CTT’s mission;
  2. Work with CTT staff to identify and help prioritize major campus teaching and learning, and academic support needs and opportunities;
  3. Assist in planning the fall teaching symposia, including identifying topics and speakers of interest to a broad university audience;
  4. Assist with long-term strategic planning for the CTT and its role within the University.

The CTT Advisory Board meets at least twice a semester during the academic year. Members serve on staggered, rotating terms. Members can be reappointed for additional terms.

2022 Members

  • Chair, Nick Monk, director, Center for Transformative Teaching
  • Rachel Azima, director, Writing Center & assistant professor of practice, English
  • Kathleen Brooks, associate professor of agricultural economics
  • Sydney Brown, assistant director, Center for Transformative Teaching
  • Brian Couch, associate professor, School of Biological Sciences
  • Tareq Daher, director, Engineering and Computing Education Center
  • Cal Garbin, professor of psychology
  • Sarah Thomas-Karle, associate professor of landscape architecture
  • Jackie Mattingly, assistant professor of practice in music & interim associate dean, Hixson-Lied Student Success
  • Barney McCoy, professor of broadcasting
  • L.J. McElravy, associate professor of agricultural leadership, education, and communication & interim associate dean of graduate studies
  • Justin Olmanson, assistant professor of teaching, learning, and teacher education
  • Catherine Riehle, associate professor & interim coordinator of teaching and learning, university libraries
  • Beverly Russell, associate director, Center for Transformative Teaching
  • Robert Russell, program coordinator, Center for Academic Success and Transition
  • Luke Anderson, student representative
  • Cara DeMers, student representative
  • Colin Dike, student representative
  • Elodie Galezzi, student representative
  • Morgan McGree, student representative
  • Katie Mowat, student representative